Little Things

As I poked around Ten Thousand Villages, a store of gentle spirit of indigenous art gathered from the corners of the earth, I felt connected to each little carving, craft or cloth. I touched them gently knowing hands from so far away in small villages had toiled and created such beauty. I noticed intricate patterns and details done with love and patience. Such care, such intensity of spirit soaked into wood.

I also saw my daughter and husband quietly with gentle laughter experimenting with singing bowls and drums. Enjoying a moment together in awe of the power of music playing a didgereedoo.

The store was full of interesting people some touching, some speaking, some looking at particular items. Music wafted over the conversations. The store is a community of nations- art from afar all in one small space, no conflict, no debate, no politics, just art and people appreciating it.

Around the world people in small villages make art and it is promoted through the Ten Thousand Villages stores. Voluteers work in the stores in support of the people and their art. Profits go back to the artists. A system co-existing in a small yet magnificent way.

When we notice the details and intensely absorb them we are often transfixed and make decisions based on our own needs and wants.  However as we step back and notice what makes things work,  we notice the larger pattern and we see new patterns emerging we realize that something as simple as one small purchase from the right store can positively affect the health of a child in Bangladesh.

As a leader, think on the space, the time, and the community. What little thing are you doing that affects the whole system? What choices are you making?  Others follow leaders, how do you want to be followed?

About leaderspace

I am 3M- Mom, Mum, and Mama to my son, daughter-in-law, and daughter. They each have their endearments for me which I treasure. It represents the unique relationship I have with each of them. My poetry is often stimulated by some kind of motherly-wifely-daughter-sister-friend-environment relationship experience. The poems seem to just bubble up and pour out every now and then. They feel like little gifts that are handed to me to pass on, so I now pass them on to you, my new readers. My hope is that some of the words will spark an emotion that will lead to a hug with someone you cherish. In my worklife I focus on leadership and learning through my employment and my consulting work. if you want to know more check out my profile at about.me/debbie_payne or hunt me down on LinkedIN.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little Things

  1. Emily says:

    Thank you for your post, mom.

    I love that store.

    A small choice is just a piece of the whole. And that’s all the whole is, just a collection of pieces. That’s why each piece matters so much.

    Smile for this moment.
    Emily.

Leave a Reply

